configure for gmail

This forum is designated to discuss AceBackup. Please note that questions in this forum are not answered by our support team.
Post Reply
todlarson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: October 21st, 2008, 5:08 am

configure for gmail

Post by todlarson » October 24th, 2008, 2:45 am

How do I setup acebackup to send job completion emails via my gmail smtp account? I think I have it setup right but I didn't see a selection in acebackup for TLS/SSL. I am not receiving the emails when the backup job ends and I don't see an error message in the logs.

Below are the settings from the gmail web site.

Code: Select all

smtp.gmail.com (use authentication)
Use Authentication: Yes
Use STARTTLS: Yes (some clients call this SSL)
Port: 465 or 587 
Thank you.

AceBIT (Support)
Guru
Guru
Posts: 258
Joined: August 21st, 2008, 1:59 pm

Re: configure for gmail

Post by AceBIT (Support) » October 24th, 2008, 4:31 pm

Hello!

We are sorry but AceBackup does not support SSL-authentication yet. This feature request has already been forwarded to the responsible product manager and it may be included in one of the next versions of AceBackup.

Kind Regards
Marco

todlarson
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: October 21st, 2008, 5:08 am

Re: configure for gmail

Post by todlarson » October 25th, 2008, 3:18 am

Thank you for the kind and accurate reply.

niterider666
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: January 20th, 2009, 6:07 pm

Re: configure for gmail

Post by niterider666 » January 20th, 2009, 6:14 pm

Hey,

I've been using Backup now for a few months and am loving it - however I'm having the same trouble with the gmail config.

I only use web-based mail like gmail and hotmail but have never received a backup report. How can you tell the thing is running without the e-mail verification? There's no visible icon or status display to actually tell you that the backup is in progress.

Cheers

Richard Tucker

Sys Specs: Compaq Presario V3000 series|AMD Athlon Dual Core 1.8 gHz|2.5GB RAM|Microsoft Windows Vista Service Pack 1|AVG Anti-Virus 8.0

Support (AceBIT)

Re: configure for gmail

Post by Support (AceBIT) » January 27th, 2009, 11:27 am

Hello,

unfortunately there is no solution for this problem at the moment, we are sorry.

Best regards

AgenteAlves
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: November 21st, 2011, 1:26 pm

Re: configure for gmail

Post by AgenteAlves » November 21st, 2011, 4:44 pm

Hi... with version 3.0.1 it is possible configure gmail notifications??

Thanks in advance

Post Reply